Back to black…with a new gluten free chocolate cake

Oh Gosh there is so long since I haven’t update my blog…but there is a important reason(or at least a reason why:p)

So many things happened since then..First I found a job here in Perth..whohooo..pastry chef in one of most famous high tea salon in the city  An interesting job and very exciting..at the beginning i was in the heaven..Now, as every job after a wile, start to be tiring and repetitive…but we go further..at least for a wile.

Another important thing is that I will be a mum. Oh yes this is the most exciting thing! I will have a baby in 4 months and half…a baby not planned but so desired!!! where the time passed!!??  Is crazy and this make me go on, and continue believing in me an my capacities!! And do something for me and my future…So many ideas in my had which i have to get together.

And also I decided to start to follow some interior design/decorating classes! That’s super cool. I might find myself amazed about this domain and maybe I can collaborate with my partner and do something together as he is a carpenter and furniture designer.

So you see my dear readers there are so many things happening..And many more things. But let’s start sharing you  some pastry recipes…that is why you are here right? 🙂 As many of us start to be more and more sensitive to the gluten, I have started to do more gluten free recipes. One that everyone liked is a flour-less almond meal chocolate cake. A “delice”!

Rich almond and roasted torte:

For a 10 inch cake you need:

  • 3/4 cups unsalted butter, diced, plus more for greasing1 &
  • 6 1/2 ounces dark chocolate broken into pieces
  • 3/4 cup superfine sugar
  • 1 cup coarsely ground roasted almonds
  • 1/2 cup chopped roasted almonds

For the icing:

  • 7 tablespoons heavy cream
  • 5 1/2 ounces dark chocolate , broken into small pieces
  • Vienna  almonds to decorate ( sugar coated almonds)

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 170° C. Cut a piece of parchment paper to line a 10 inch cake pan.grease with butter and reserve.

Melt the butter and chocolate together in a bowl over barely simmering water. While they are melting cream the egg yolks ad sugar in a stand mixer fitted with a whisk until pale and light. Continuing to whisk add the melted chocolate and butter. stop the machine , remove the whisk and fold in the almond meal and almond whith a metal spoon.

In a clean bowl whisk the egg whites to stiff peaks. Throw a spoonful into the chocolate mixture and stir in to lighten it before folding in the rest.

Pour the mixture into the prepared pan and bake for 20 min. Turn down the temperature to 150°C an bake for another 40 min.

Remove and allow to cool in the pan , until cold. Remove from thin.

Make the frosting by bringing the cream to a boil in a small pan. Add the chocolate and remove from heat, rapidly beating the chocolate in with the wooden spoon as it melts. Ice the top of the cake and decorate with vienna  almonds.

Allow to set before cutting. Is delicious served in the afternoon with a cup of rose tea!

Leave a Reply

